Antrim Round Tower

Map Reference: J154878 (3154, 3878)

St Comgall of Bangor is said to have founded a monastery at Antrim. St Finntan of Antrim (d. 613) and St Flann of Antrim (d. 728) were abbots of Bangor at the time of their deaths. When Bangor was plundered in 824 St Comgall’s relics were taken to Antrim. The monastery was plundered in 1018 and burned in 1147. The only remnant of the monastery is the Round Tower, in Steeple townland. It stands 28m high complete with conical cap. It owes its remarkably good condition to rebuilding and consolidation in the early 19th century.

General View

The square-headed doorway is 2.3m above ground level. It is 1.3m high and 60cm wide at the base and 56cm wide at the top. On the outside the stone above the lintel has a celtic cross carved on it. The carving is 1cm deep, 40cm high and 30cm across the arms. The tower is about six storeys high with four square-headed windows at various levels and four similar, smaller windows at the top floor.

The doorway

Nearby is a large boulder known as the Witch’s Stone. It has two good bullauns.

The Witch's Stone

For details of other Round Towers click on the links below

Armoy, Co Antrim St Mullin’s, Co Carlow Drumlane, Co Cavan Drumcliff, Co Clare Dysert O’Dea, Co Clare Cloyne, Co Cork Kinneigh, Co Cork Tory Island, Co Donegal Drumbo, Co Down Maghera, Co Down Nendrum, Co Down Lusk, Co Dublin Swords, Co Dublin Devenish, Co Fermanagh Kilbennan, Co Galway Kilmacduagh, Co Galway Roscam, Co Galway Aghadoe, Co Kerry Ratoo, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Kildare, Co Kildare Kilcullen, C Kildare Oughterard, Co Kildare Taghadoe, Co Kildare Aghaviller, Co Kilkenny Grangefertagh, Co Kilkenny Kilkenny, Co Kilkenny Kilree, Co Kilkenny Tullaherin, Co Kilkenny Timahoe, Co Laois Kilmallock, Co Limerick Dromiskin, Co Louth Monasterboice, Co Louth Aghagower, Co Mayo Balla, Co Mayo Killala, Co Mayo Meelick, Co Mayo Turlough, Co Mayo Donaghmore, Co Meath Kells, Co Meath Clones, Co Monaghan Clonmacnois, Co Offaly Boyle, Co Roscommon Oran, Co Roscommon Drumcliffe, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Roscrea, Co Tipperary Ardmore, Co Waterford Glendalough, Co Wicklow

Return to County Antrim List

Return to Gazetteer