Buttevant Franciscan Friary

Map Reference: R545090 (1545, 1090)

Buttevant Franciscan Friary was founded by David Oge Barry in 1251 and was dedicated to St Thomas a Becket. It has a double crypt. The lower level has nothing of interest and is divided into two rooms separated by an arcade. The upper crypt is larger and has at least four rooms. Two of these are separated by an arcade the pillar of which has four columns with decorated capitals.

There is a long rectangular church with a south transept. There are three lancet east windows and in the south wall there are some lancet windows as well as a fine traceried three-light window. Also in the south wall is a very fine double piscina and beside it is a tomb niche.

In the opposite wall is a blocked tomb niche or possibly a doorway and traces of a square-headed recess. Built into the north wall is a collection of carved fragments of the bases and capitals of double columns which may be all that remains of the cloister.

A flight of steps leading to an upper level in the south wall near the middle of the church suggests a vanished tower. There are two more tomb niches in the north wall and another in the south wall as well as a single piscina in the west end of the church. The two two-light windows above the west doorway are remodelled lancets.

The south transept has an east chapel with a portion of a Crucifixion panel set in the east wall. There is also a stone dated 1615. There are possibly two tomb niches in the east wall of the transept.

After the Dissolutinn the friary passed into the hands of the Barrys. The friars were allowed to return and in 1609 they adopted the Franciscan reform and remained on intermittently until 1783.

For more examples of Franciscan Friaries click on the following links

Bonamargy, Co Antrim Armagh, Co Armagh Ennis, Co Clare Quin, Co Clare Timoleague, Co Cork Claregalway, Co Galway Kilconnell, Co Galway Meelick, Co Galway Rosserrily, Co Galway Ardfert, Co Kerry Lislaughtin, Co Kerry Muckross, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Creevelea, Co Leitrim Adare, Co Limerick Askeaton, Co Limerick Dundalk, Co Louth Moyne, Co Mayo Rosserk, Co Mayo Nenagh, Co Tipperary Roscrea, Co Tipperary

Return to County Cork List
Return to Gazetteer