Dunmanus Castle

Map Reference: V846331 (0846, 0331)

Dunmanus Castle is a fine tower standing four storeys high. Inside there is no access to the upper floors. There is a vault above the first floor. Mural chambers may be seen at the first floor and there is possibly a mural stairway above this level. There may be two storeys above the vault. The upper level is lit by two-light windows. There is a latrine exit at ground level in the south-west wall. It appears to be a double chute leading from the first floor and above. The doorway is in the north-east wall.

A tower projects on two sides at the southwest corner. It is five storeys high. At the base of this tower is a room which can now be entered through a hole in the wall. The only other entrance is a square hole in the vaulted roof. This may have been intended to be a secret room. The room above also has a vaulted roof.

The castle is said to have been built by Donogh More O Mahony about 1430. It was taken by Crown forces in 1602 but later recaptured by the O Mahonys.

For details of some other Tower Houses click on the following links

Ballynalacken, Co Clare Ballyportry, Co Clare Cratloemoyle, Co Clare Gleninagh, Co Clare Smithstown, Co Clare Ballinacarriga, Co Cork Carrickadroichid, Co Cork Buncrana, Co Donegal Audley’s Castle, Co Down Jordan’s Castle, Co Down Kilclief, Co Down Narrow Water, Co Down Dunsoghly, Co Dublin Ardamullivan, Co Galway Drumharsna, Co Galway Feartagar, Co Galway Lydacan, Co Galway Ballymalis, Co Kerry Ballybur, Co Kilkenny Burnchurch, Co Kilkenny Foulksrath, Co Kilkenny Rockstown, Co Limerick Castlerea, Co Longford Ardee, Co Louth Killincoole, Co Louth Dunmahon, Co Louth Roodstown, Co Louth Termonfeckin, Co Louth Kildavnet, Co Mayo Kinlough, Co Mayo Rockfleet, Co Mayo Donore, Co Meath Lynch’s Castle, Co Meath Clonony, Co Offaly Shrah, Co Offaly Ballyfinboy, Co Tipperary Ballyvada, Co Tipperary Grallagh, Co Tipperary Graystown, Co Tipperary Lisronagh, Co Tipperary Moycarkey, Co Tipperary Tombrickane, Co Tipperary Syonan, Co Westmeath Tyrrelspass, Co Westmeath Kilcloggan, Co Wexford Rathmacknee, Co Wexford Taghmon, Co Wexford Threecastles, Co Wicklow

Return to County Cork List
Return to Gazetteer