Map Reference: J597457 (3597, 3457)

This tower-house was supposedly built by John Sely, Bishop of Down, between 1413 and 1441. He was deprived of the bishopric in 1441 after complaints of his living with Lettice Thomas, a married woman. The castle was garrisoned for the crown at the start of the 17th century and in the middle of the next century it was described as being roofed with thatch.

General view from the SE

It is built of split-stone rubble with sandstone dressings. It is four storeys high with very fine crenellations. It has twin projecting towers similar to Audley's Castle and Jordan's Castle at the NE and SE corners. These rise above the roof level and crenellations. There is a high machicolation arch spanning the gap.

View of the entrance at the base of the SE turret

The entrance in the SE turret leads to a spiral stairway. The NE turret has three garderobes and a latrine chute. The castle is vaulted above the ground floor.

For details of some other Tower Houses click on the following links

Ballynalacken, Co Clare Ballyportry, Co Clare Cratloemoyle, Co Clare Gleninagh, Co Clare Smithstown, Co Clare Ballinacarriga, Co Cork Carrickadroichid, Co Cork Dunmanus, Co Cork Buncrana, Co Donegal Audley’s Castle, Co Down Jordan’s Castle, Co Down Narrow Water, Co Down Dunsoghly, Co Dublin Ardamullivan, Co Galway Drumharsna, Co Galway Feartagar, Co Galway Lydacan, Co Galway Ballymalis, Co Kerry Ballybur, Co Kilkenny Burnchurch, Co Kilkenny Foulksrath, Co Kilkenny Rockstown, Co Limerick Castlerea, Co Longford Ardee, Co Louth Killincoole, Co Louth Dunmahon, Co Louth Roodstown, Co Louth Termonfeckin, Co Louth Kildavnet, Co Mayo Kinlough, Co Mayo Rockfleet, Co Mayo Donore, Co Meath Lynch’s Castle, Co Meath Clonony, Co Offaly Shrah, Co Offaly Ballyfinboy, Co Tipperary Ballyvada, Co Tipperary Grallagh, Co Tipperary Graystown, Co Tipperary Lisronagh, Co Tipperary Moycarkey, Co Tipperary Tombrickane, Co Tipperary Syonan, Co Westmeath Tyrrelspass, Co Westmeath Kilcloggan, Co Wexford Rathmacknee, Co Wexford Taghmon, Co Wexford Threecastles, Co Wicklow

Return to County Down List
Return to Gazetteer