Maghera Church & Round Tower

Map Reference: J372342 (3372, 3342)

St Domangard (or Donard) who died in 507 founded a monastery on a site probably now occupied by Maghera Church of Ireland church. The ruined church in the middle of the old cemetery probably dates from the end of the 12th century. There is evidence that the site was surrounded by a small circular earthwork (not concentric with the graveyard).

The rectangular ruin measures 14m by 6.5m internally and the walls are about 90cm thick. The west gable and north wall still stand to original height but elsewhere the walls are reduced to foundation level. In the west gable and at the east end of the north wall are longitudinal sockets, probably of bond timbers.

About 100m north-west of the church is the stump of a Round Tower. It stands about 5.5m high and is about 2.75m internal diameter. The walls are 1m thick. A ragged gap on the east side, about 2m high and 1m wide, indicates the position of the entrance. It is about 1.7m above ground level. Excavations in 1965 provided evidence of occupation near the tower in the Early Christian period.

For details of other Round Towers click on the links below

Antrim, Co Antrim Armoy, Co Antrim St Mullin’s, Co Carlow Drumlane, Co Cavan Drumcliff, Co Clare Dysert O’Dea, Co Clare Cloyne, Co Cork Kinneigh, Co Cork Tory Island, Co Donegal Drumbo, Co Down Nendrum, Co Down Lusk, Co Dublin Swords, Co Dublin Devenish, Co Fermanagh Kilbennan, Co Galway Kilmacduagh, Co Galway Roscam, Co Galway Aghadoe, Co Kerry Ratoo, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Kildare, Co Kildare Kilcullen, C Kildare Oughterard, Co Kildare Taghadoe, Co Kildare Aghaviller, Co Kilkenny Grangefertagh, Co Kilkenny Kilkenny, Co Kilkenny Kilree, Co Kilkenny Tullaherin, Co Kilkenny Timahoe, Co Laois Kilmallock, Co Limerick Dromiskin, Co Louth Monasterboice, Co Louth Aghagower, Co Mayo Balla, Co Mayo Killala, Co Mayo Meelick, Co Mayo Turlough, Co Mayo Donaghmore, Co Meath Kells, Co Meath Clones, Co Monaghan Clonmacnois, Co Offaly Boyle, Co Roscommon Oran, Co Roscommon Drumcliffe, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Roscrea, Co Tipperary Ardmore, Co Waterford Glendalough, Co Wicklow

Return to County Down List
Return to Gazetteer