Newtownards Dominican Priory

Map Reference: J493738 (3493, 3738)

Newtownards Priory is said to have been founded about 1244 by the Savage Family of the Ards. It may also have been founded by de Burgh but, since he did not succeed to the earldom until 1264, this seems unlikely. However the de Burghs may have been responsible for the extensive rebuilding and enlargement of the church early in the 14th century.

The priory was burned shortly after it was dissolved in 1541. It was granted to Hugh, the first Viscount Montgomery. He rebuilt the north aisle and added the north tower and decorated doorway. The ruins consist of a rectangular church and a north aisle with a four-bay arcade.

Only the south wall remains from the time of the foundation. The west wall of the church and the aisle arcade date from the early 14th century.

The rest of the aisle and the tower date from the early 17th century. The two carved masks on the inner jambs at the base of the tower date from the 18th century.

For details of other Dominican Friaries click on the links below

Glanworth, Co Cork Athenry, Co Galway Kilmallock, Co Limerick Carlingford, Co Louth Burrishoole, Co Mayo Rathfran, Co Mayo Strade, Co Mayo Cloonshanville, Co Roscommon Roscommon, Co Roscommon Tulsk, Co Roscommon Ballindoon, Co Sligo Sligo, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Lorrha, Co Tipperary

Return to County Down List
Return to Gazetteer