Ardamullivan Castle

Map Reference: R444952 (1444, 1952)

Ardamullivan Castle was first mentioned in 1567 when it was claimed by Dermot ‘The Swarthy’ O’Shaughnessy on the death of his brother, Sir Roger. This was disputed by John, a nephew of Dermot, and during a fight in 1579 both claimants were killed. It is a five-storey tower among trees on a hillock. There are traces of bartizans on the NE and SW corners and there is another along the south wall. There are corbels of a machicolation above the doorway in the east wall. There is a murder hole and, in the wall above the doorway, at first floor level, there is a long narrow horizontal slit which looks like a large slopstone but is probably a defensive device similar to a machicolation. There is a fine guard chamber to the right of the doorway and the stairway rises on the left. Straight ahead is a large vaulted room. There is a small fireplace on the right and two small windows set within deep recesses. There is a series of small chambers in the eastern section of the castle. There is a large room at the second floor with a corner fireplace. The castle is vaulted again above the fourth floor. There appears to be a small chamber in the east wall just under the vault but this is not accessible. The bartizan in the south wall is at third floor level. It has a cross-shaped defensive loop. The large room above the second vault has a fireplace and three good windows. The window in the north wall has a round-headed recess with three decorated panels. Some of the small windows have decoration on the outside. There are many slopstones throughout the castle and a latrine chute exit near the base of the north wall. Traces of walls around the castle may be part of the original bawn.

These notes were made in 1988 and the photographs also date from that time. When I re-visited the castle in 2002 it was being renovated and covered in scaffolding and cladding.

For details of some other Tower Houses click on the following links

Ballynalacken, Co Clare Ballyportry, Co Clare Cratloemoyle, Co Clare Gleninagh, Co Clare Smithstown, Co Clare Ballinacarriga, Co Cork Carrickadroichid, Co Cork Dunmanus, Co Cork Buncrana, Co Donegal Audley’s Castle, Co Down Jordan’s Castle, Co Down Kilclief, Co Down Narrow Water, Co Down Dunsoghly, Co Dublin Drumharsna, Co Galway Feartagar, Co Galway Lydacan, Co Galway Ballymalis, Co Kerry Ballybur, Co Kilkenny Burnchurch, Co Kilkenny Foulksrath, Co Kilkenny Rockstown, Co Limerick Castlerea, Co Longford Ardee, Co Louth Killincoole, Co Louth Dunmahon, Co Louth Roodstown, Co Louth Termonfeckin, Co Louth Kildavnet, Co Mayo Kinlough, Co Mayo Rockfleet, Co Mayo Donore, Co Meath Lynch’s Castle, Co Meath Clonony, Co Offaly Shrah, Co Offaly Ballyfinboy, Co Tipperary Ballyvada, Co Tipperary Grallagh, Co Tipperary Graystown, Co Tipperary Lisronagh, Co Tipperary Moycarkey, Co Tipperary Tombrickane, Co Tipperary Syonan, Co Westmeath Tyrrelspass, Co Westmeath Kilcloggan, Co Wexford Rathmacknee, Co Wexford Taghmon, Co Wexford Threecastles, Co Wicklow

Return to County Galway List
Return to Gazetteer