Athenry Dominican Friary

Map reference: M504278 (1504, 2278)

This friary was founded by Meiler de Bermingham, 2nd Lord of Athenry, in 1241 and dedicated to Saints Peter and Paul. De Bermingham provided the money and lands and was probably responsible for the church in which he was buried in 1252. Other nobles in the area are credited with building the rest of the friary in the succeeding century. These include Felim O'Connor, Eugene O'Heyne and Cornelius O'Kelly. However hardly anything remains of these domestic buildings.

The ruins today consist of a nave-and-chancel church with a north aisle and transept. The tall lancet windows in the choir probably date from the earliest building but there was considerable reconstruction in the 14th century. A fire gutted the building in 1423 and it is probable that the north transept was added during rebuilding. The friary was not dissolved after the Suppression when the friars agreed to adopt a secular habit. In 1568 Elizabeth I directed that the Earl of Clanrickarde could preserve the friary as a burial place. However it was confiscated in 1574 and burned. It was restored in the 17th century but the friars were finally expelled in 1652 by the Parliamentary forces.

For details of other Dominican Friaries click on the links below

Glanworth, Co Cork Newtownards, Co Down Kilmallock, Co Limerick Carlingford, Co Louth Burrishoole, Co Mayo Rathfran, Co Mayo Strade, Co Mayo Cloonshanville, Co Roscommon Roscommon, Co Roscommon Tulsk, Co Roscommon Ballindoon, Co Sligo Sligo, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Lorrha, Co Tipperary

Return to County Galway List
Return to Gazetteer