Taghadoe Round Tower

Map Reference: N924347 (2924, 2347)

The early monastery at Taghadoe may have been founded by St Tua, also known as Ultan the Silent, who ws attached to the nearby monastery of Clane. Little is known of its history except that one of its abbots, Folachtach of Tech-Tua, died in 770. He had been abbot of Clonmacnois. The only remnant of an early monastery is the Round Tower. This is about 20m high and is built mainly of rough coursed slatey limestone. The round-headed doorway faces SSE and is about 3.5m above ground level. It is built mainly of granite blocks except for the right jamb and the sill which are of limestone. It has a plain raised moulding, 15cm wide, in the granite portions and the sill.

There are three windows, all with square heads and inclined jambs. One of these is above the doorway at about third floor level.

The nearby church was built in 1831 and abandoned forty years later. It is a large rectangular structure with corner turrets. During the lifetime of the church the base of the Round Tower was used as a coal store and a doorway was inserted at the base of the wall. This was built up when the tower became a National Monument in 1886.

For details of other Round Towers click on the links below

Antrim, Co Antrim Armoy, Co Antrim St Mullin’s, Co Carlow Drumlane, Co Cavan Drumcliff, Co Clare Dysert O’Dea, Co Clare Cloyne, Co Cork Kinneigh, Co Cork Tory Island, Co Donegal Drumbo, Co Down Maghera, Co Down Nendrum, Co Down Lusk, Co Dublin Swords, Co Dublin Devenish, Co Fermanagh Kilbennan, Co Galway Kilmacduagh, Co Galway Roscam, Co Galway Aghadoe, Co Kerry Ratoo, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Kildare, Co Kildare Kilcullen, Co Kildare Oughterard, Co Kildare Aghaviller, Co Kilkenny Grangefertagh, Co Kilkenny Kilkenny, Co Kilkenny Kilree, Co Kilkenny Tullaherin, Co Kilkenny Timahoe, Co Laois Kilmallock, Co Limerick Dromiskin, Co Louth Monasterboice, Co Louth Aghagower, Co Mayo Balla, Co Mayo Killala, Co Mayo Meelick, Co Mayo Turlough, Co Mayo Donaghmore, Co Meath Kells, Co Meath Clones, Co Monaghan Clonmacnois, Co Offaly Boyle, Co Roscommon Oran, Co Roscommon Drumcliffe, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Roscrea, Co Tipperary Ardmore, Co Waterford Glendalough, Co Wicklow

Return to County Kildare List
Return to Gazetteer