Adare Franciscan Friary

Map Reference: R474467 (1474, 1467)

Adare Franciscan Friary was founded by Thomas, Earl of Kildare in 1464 and most of the building was completed by the end of the century. It was dedicated to St Michael the Archangel. The friary is very badly overgrown and a large tree grows out of the middle of the cloister garth.

There are good traces of the cloister. Three sides of the arcade are more or less intact. The arcade is in four groups of three in the north and east with broad divisions between. The west arcade has no divisions. At the south range a two-storey building projects into the cloister arcade. The upper storeys of all the buildings surrounding the cloister are fragmentary. The long church has a very fine tall central tower. There is a four-light east window and a three-light west window. There is a south transept with a three bay entrance and the transept has a west aisle of three bays.

There is a four-light south window in the transept and a small east chapel with a two-light window. Within it are four tomb niches. There is also a tomb niche in south wall of the transept. There are three tomb niches in north wall of the nave and three more in the north wall of the chancel. In the south wall are two more niches. All niches are fairly plain with finials.

There is a triple sedilia in the south wall of the chancel and several two-light windows. The building running along the west side of the cloister had fireplaces at the ground and upper floor and two round-headed windows in the upper west wall set within deep recesses. The friary had an outer wall of which two gateways remain. This friary was granted to Sir Henry Wallop after the Dissolution.

For more examples of Franciscan Friaries click on the following links

Bonamargy, Co Antrim Armagh, Co Armagh Ennis, Co Clare Quin, Co Clare Buttevant, Co Cork Timoleague, Co Cork Claregalway, Co Galway Kilconnell, Co Galway Meelick, Co Galway Rosserrily, Co Galway Ardfert, Co Kerry Lislaughtin, Co Kerry Muckross, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Creevelea, Co Leitrim Askeaton, Co Limerick Dundalk, Co Louth Moyne, Co Mayo Rosserk, Co Mayo Nenagh, Co Tipperary Roscrea, Co Tipperary

Return to County Limerick List
Return to Gazetteer