Map Reference: R413361 (1413, 1361)
This is a Lacy castle about five storeys high. It is in quite good condition possibly because it was repaired and used as dwelling in the early 19th century. For a short while it was used as a barracks. The interior of the castle is not accessible and only part of the exterior can be closely examined. It is an L-shaped building with the outer corner being roughly at north-west.
There is a good squinch, leading from the second floor, at the inner angle.
In the north wall there is a blocked doorway with an ogee head.
This is such an unusual (possibly unique) feature of a tower-house that it may be a 19th century modification. High on the wall above this doorway is a two-light window with ogee heads and a missing mullion.
Beside it is a projecting stone with a possible mask.
In the west wall there is another pointed doorway about first floor level. This suggests that there was an attached building but there are no obvious gable-marks.
In the east wall of this wing of the castle there is a narrow round-headed doorway at ground-floor level.
View from east
Return to County Limerick List
Return to Gazetteer