Dromiskin Monastic Site

Map Reference: O054982 (3054, 2982)

The graveyard at Dromiskin contains a fragment of a High Cross, a Round Tower and several interesting gravestones. The early monastery may have been founded by St Lugad and it was later under the patronage of St Ronan, who died in 664. It was burned and plundered several times in the 10th century.

The most notable feature of the site is a Round Tower which now stands about 15m high. The conical cap and the four windows are a later modification, probably dating from the time when the Tower was used as a belfry. The doorway has a two-order round arch and is about 4m above ground level. It was flanked by two pillars. These are now missing but the carved capitals survive.

At the other side of the graveyard is the head and arms of a High cross, mounted on a modern shaft. On the east face is a central square panel with four coiling dragons emanating from a central boss. The panels on the arms show a headless figure on a horse following another horse and a figure carrying a decapitated head. It is thought to represent David carrying the head of Goliath to King Saul. The central boss on the west face is also decorated but less well preserved. Close to the cross is a carved fragment depicting a Crucifixion.

For details of other Round Towers click on the links below

Antrim, Co Antrim Armoy, Co Antrim St Mullin’s, Co Carlow Drumlane, Co Cavan Drumcliff, Co Clare Dysert O’Dea, Co Clare Cloyne, Co Cork Kinneigh, Co Cork Tory Island, Co Donegal Drumbo, Co Down Maghera, Co Down Nendrum, Co Down Lusk, Co Dublin Swords, Co Dublin Devenish, Co Fermanagh Kilbennan, Co Galway Kilmacduagh, Co Galway Roscam, Co Galway Aghadoe, Co Kerry Ratoo, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Kildare, Co Kildare Kilcullen, Co Kildare Oughterard, Co Kildare Taghadoe, Co Kildare Aghaviller, Co Kilkenny Grangefertagh, Co Kilkenny Kilkenny, Co Kilkenny Kilree, Co Kilkenny Tullaherin, Co Kilkenny Timahoe, Co Laois Kilmallock, Co Limerick Monasterboice, Co Louth Aghagower, Co Mayo Balla, Co Mayo Killala, Co Mayo Meelick, Co Mayo Turlough, Co Mayo Donaghmore, Co Meath Kells, Co Meath Clones, Co Monaghan Clonmacnois, Co Offaly Boyle, Co Roscommon Oran, Co Roscommon Drumcliffe, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Roscrea, Co Tipperary Ardmore, Co Waterford Glendalough, Co Wicklow

Return to County Louth List
Return to Gazetteer