Killala Round Tower & Souterrain

Map Reference: G205298 (1205, 3298)

Killala Round Tower was repaired in the 19th century and now stands complete with cap. However there are no floors or ladders. It is about 26m high with a round-headed doorway 3.8m above ground level. The maximum height of the doorway is 1.7m and it is 70cm wide at the bottom.

There are three square-headed windows at the intermediate floors and the top floor is lit by four angle-headed windows which are square-headed internally.

In the graveyard of the church nearby is a souterrain.

The entrance is through a hole in the roof of a beehive chamber. To the left is a small short passage which may be a ventilation shaft. To the right is a longer passage about 1m high and 12m long. Close to the inner end is another ventilation shaft on the right. About the middle of the passage a side passage opens on the left.

It is short and leads to a large chamber. This is flooded and close inspection is not possible. However it appears to be about 3m wide and 5m long. Beyond it is the entrance to another chamber.

For details of other Round Towers click on the links below

Antrim, Co Antrim Armoy, Co Antrim St Mullin’s, Co Carlow Drumlane, Co Cavan Drumcliff, Co Clare Dysert O’Dea, Co Clare Cloyne, Co Cork Kinneigh, Co Cork Tory Island, Co Donegal Drumbo, Co Down Maghera, Co Down Nendrum, Co Down Lusk, Co Dublin Swords, Co Dublin Devenish, Co Fermanagh Kilbennan, Co Galway Kilmacduagh, Co Galway Roscam, Co Galway Aghadoe, Co Kerry Ratoo, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Kildare, Co Kildare Kilcullen, Co Kildare Oughterard, Co Kildare Taghadoe, Co Kildare Aghaviller, Co Kilkenny Grangefertagh, Co Kilkenny Kilkenny, Co Kilkenny Kilree, Co Kilkenny Tullaherin, Co Kilkenny Timahoe, Co Laois Kilmallock, Co Limerick Dromiskin, Co Louth Monasterboice, Co Louth Aghagower, Co Mayo Balla, Co Mayo Meelick, Co Mayo Turlough, Co Mayo Donaghmore, Co Meath Kells, Co Meath Clones, Co Monaghan Clonmacnois, Co Offaly Boyle, Co Roscommon Oran, Co Roscommon Drumcliffe, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Roscrea, Co Tipperary Ardmore, Co Waterford Glendalough, Co Wicklow

Return to County Mayo List
Return to Gazetteer