Shrah Castle, Tullamore

Map Reference: N328251 (2328, 2251)

A short distance to the W of Tullamore, on the bank of the Grand Canal, stands the ruin of Shrah Castle, built in 1588. It is four storeys high with a fragmentary doorway in the W wall. There is a later building attached to the W and N. This is very fragmentary, the most complete feature being the W gable which has a fireplace. The doorway to the tower-house is protected by a murder-hole and a machicolation.

There is also a very fine gun-loop to the left of the doorway. Inside the tower is completely gutted. The western section consists of a vertical series of small rooms with large rooms in the eastern section. The small room at the second floor has a flat vault with very fine wicker-marks. There is no vault in the eastern section. A spiral stairway rose in the NW corner. It is very fragmentary except at the upper level. There is a fireplace in the N wall at the first floor and the chimney stack is still in place. The castle was defended by bartizans at the second floor level in the SW and NE corners.

The SW bartizan is almost complete but the other has almost disappeared. Below the SW bartizan is a two-light corner window. There is a narrow slit below the other bartizan. There are two-light windows in the N and E walls at the ground floor but otherwise the castle is lit by narrow loops. In the E wall there is a cross-shaped loop and a round loop, and near the base of the wall is a latrine chute exit.

For details of some other Tower Houses click on the following links

Ballynalacken, Co Clare Ballyportry, Co Clare Cratloemoyle, Co Clare Gleninagh, Co Clare Smithstown, Co Clare Ballinacarriga, Co Cork Carrickadroichid, Co Cork Dunmanus, Co Cork Buncrana, Co Donegal Audley’s Castle, Co Down Jordan’s Castle, Co Down Kilclief, Co Down Narrow Water, Co Down Dunsoghly, Co Dublin Ardamullivan, Co Galway Drumharsna, Co Galway Feartagar, Co Galway Lydacan, Co Galway Ballymalis, Co Kerry Ballybur, Co Kilkenny Burnchurch, Co Kilkenny Foulksrath, Co Kilkenny Rockstown, Co Limerick Castlerea, Co Longford Ardee, Co Louth Killincoole, Co Louth Dunmahon, Co Louth Roodstown, Co Louth Termonfeckin, Co Louth Kildavnet, Co Mayo Kinlough, Co Mayo Rockfleet, Co Mayo Donore, Co Meath Lynch’s Castle, Co Meath Clonony, Co Offaly Ballyfinboy, Co Tipperary Ballyvada, Co Tipperary Grallagh, Co Tipperary Graystown, Co Tipperary Lisronagh, Co Tipperary Moycarkey, Co Tipperary Tombrickane, Co Tipperary Syonan, Co Westmeath Tyrrelspass, Co Westmeath Kilcloggan, Co Wexford Rathmacknee, Co Wexford Taghmon, Co Wexford Threecastles, Co Wicklow

Return to County Offaly List
Return to Gazetteer