Sligo Dominican Friary

Map Reference: G685359 (1685, 3359)

Dominican Priory of the Holy Cross was built in 1252 by Maurice FitzGerald. In 1414, at which time there were 20 friars, it was accidentally burned and the following year indulgence was granted to any visitors who gave alms for the restoration. It was rebuilt in 1416 by Brian, son of Dermot MacDonagh. In 1562 Queen Elizabeth granted O’Conor Sligo’s plea that the friary should be preserved, on the understanding that the friars were living as secular priests. George Bimngham took up residence there in 1595 and the friary was granted to William Taaffe by James I. Fr O’Crean arrived from Spain in 1608 and by 1622 he had formed a new community of 10 friars. It was burned in 1641 by Sir Frederick Hamilton and was afterwards granted to Sir William Taaffe.

The church has a nave with side aisle and south transept.

The lancet windows in the choir probably date from the earliest phase but the east window, the altar and the tower date from the 15th century. There is also a 15th century rood screen.

The transept was added in the 16th century. In the north wall of the nave is the O’Crean tomb with a Crucifixion panel and weepers including St Dominic, St Katherine and St Peter.

In the south wall of the choir is the O’Conor Sligo monument of 1624. Its main feature is the kneeling figures of Sir Donagh O’Conor and his wife Elinor.

The sacristy and chapter-house to the north of the choir are both 13th century buildings but the cloister and the other buildings surrounding it belong to the 15th century.

At the first floor in the north range there is a small arcaded recess which led to the reader’s desk in the refectory.

For more photos of Sligo Dominican Friary click HERE

For details of other Dominican Friaries click on the links below

Glanworth, Co Cork Newtownards, Co Down Athenry, Co Galway Kilmallock, Co Limerick Carlingford, Co Louth Burrishoole, Co Mayo Rathfran, Co Mayo Strade, Co Mayo Cloonshanville, Co Roscommon Roscommon, Co Roscommon Tulsk, Co Roscommon Ballindoon, Co Sligo Cashel, Co Tipperary Lorrha, Co Tipperary

Return to County Sligo List
Return to Gazetteer