Moycarkey Castle

Map Reference: S145528 (2145, 1528)

Moycarkey Castle is a tower-house set within a large rectangular bawn which has round flanking towers at the NE and SW corners. The presence of a bartizan at the NW corner is indicated by two corbels still in position.

The entrance to the tower- house in the east wall is protected by a machicolation at roof level and a double murder- hole.

The ground floor room

A straight mural stairway rises to the right of the entrance. Halfway along the stair, in the north wall, is the entrance to a chamber. This doorway is brick-built and may be a later modification. The only other entrance to the room is through a square hole in the ceiling. This hole was originally closed by a well-fitting flagstone (now missing) and it is possible that the room may have been a secret chamber of the type found in many tower- houses in Tipperary and Kilkenny. There is a vault above the first floor. Above the vault are two storeys plus attic. Both these floors are lit by small windows set within deep recesses and have good window seats. The straight stairway continues to the floor above the vault and thereafter it changes to a spiral stairway in the NW corner.

The ruined latrine-chute exit

William Cantwell was listed as the proprietor of the castle in 1640.

The machicolation protecting the doorway

One of the corner towers of the bawn

For details of some other Tower Houses click on the following links

Ballynalacken, Co Clare Ballyportry, Co Clare Cratloemoyle, Co Clare Gleninagh, Co Clare Smithstown, Co Clare Ballinacarriga, Co Cork Carrickadroichid, Co Cork Dunmanus, Co Cork Buncrana, Co Donegal Audley’s Castle, Co Down Jordan’s Castle, Co Down Kilclief, Co Down Narrow Water, Co Down Dunsoghly, Co Dublin Ardamullivan, Co Galway Drumharsna, Co Galway Feartagar, Co Galway Lydacan, Co Galway Ballymalis, Co Kerry Ballybur, Co Kilkenny Burnchurch, Co Kilkenny Foulksrath, Co Kilkenny Rockstown, Co Limerick Castlerea, Co Longford Ardee, Co Louth Killincoole, Co Louth Dunmahon, Co Louth Roodstown, Co Louth Termonfeckin, Co Louth Kildavnet, Co Mayo Kinlough, Co Mayo Rockfleet, Co Mayo Donore, Co Meath Lynch’s Castle, Co Meath Clonony, Co Offaly Shrah, Co Offaly Ballyfinboy, Co Tipperary Ballyvada, Co Tipperary Grallagh, Co Tipperary Graystown, Co Tipperary Lisronagh, Co Tipperary Tombrickane, Co Tipperary Syonan, Co Westmeath Tyrrelspass, Co Westmeath Kilcloggan, Co Wexford Rathmacknee, Co Wexford Taghmon, Co Wexford Threecastles, Co Wicklow

Return to County Tipperary List
Return to Gazetteer