Nenagh Franciscan Friary

Map Reference: R867791 (1867, 1791)

This friary may have been founded by a Butler in the reign of Henry III but Donal O'Kennedy, bishop of Killaloe, who died in 1252, may have taken an active part in the foundation. It became the main Franciscan friary of West Ireland. After the Suppression the friary was granted to Robert Collum. Only the long friary church remains. There is a triple lancet east window and a series of narrow lancets in the north wall of the chancel.

For more examples of Franciscan Friaries click on the following links

Bonamargy, Co Antrim Armagh, Co Armagh Ennis, Co Clare Quin, Co Clare Buttevant, Co Cork Timoleague, Co Cork Claregalway, Co Galway Kilconnell, Co Galway Meelick, Co Galway Rosserrily, Co Galway Ardfert, Co Kerry Lislaughtin, Co Kerry Muckross, Co Kerry Castledermott, Co Kildare Creevelea, Co Leitrim Adare, Co Limerick Askeaton, Co Limerick Dundalk, Co Louth Moyne, Co Mayo Rosserk, Co Mayo Roscrea, Co Tipperary

Return to County Tipperary List
Return to Gazetteer