Kilcloggan Castle

Map Reference: S760047 (2760, 1047)

This tower-house is traditionally said to have been founded by O'More of Laois in the late 12th century. It was transferred to the Knights Hospitallers in the 14th century and after the Suppression in 1541 it was granted to the Loftus family. However the present building is probably no older than the 15th century. It is an almost square tower with projecting towers at the north and west corners. These held a spiral stairway and garderobes. It is four storeys high with a vault over the ground floor. The entrance is near the south end of the SE wall and leads directly into the groud floor room. A mural stairway in the SE wall led upwards. It is now destroyed but the continuation in the NE wall leads to the first floor. A spiral stairway at the north corner leads to the two upper floors. The castle has a mixture of ogee-headed and rectangular windows, some with seats. There are fireplaces at the first and second floor. The castle had an attached bawn and there are some traces of this at the north corner. there are good crenellations.

For details of some other Tower Houses click on the following links

Ballynalacken, Co Clare Ballyportry, Co Clare Cratloemoyle, Co Clare Gleninagh, Co Clare Smithstown, Co Clare Ballinacarriga, Co Cork Carrickadroichid, Co Cork Dunmanus, Co Cork Buncrana, Co Donegal Audley’s Castle, Co Down Jordan’s Castle, Co Down Kilclief, Co Down Narrow Water, Co Down Dunsoghly, Co Dublin Ardamullivan, Co Galway Drumharsna, Co Galway Feartagar, Co Galway Lydacan, Co Galway Ballymalis, Co Kerry Ballybur, Co Kilkenny Burnchurch, Co Kilkenny Foulksrath, Co Kilkenny Rockstown, Co Limerick Castlerea, Co Longford Ardee, Co Louth Killincoole, Co Louth Dunmahon, Co Louth Roodstown, Co Louth Termonfeckin, Co Louth Kildavnet, Co Mayo Kinlough, Co Mayo Rockfleet, Co Mayo Donore, Co Meath Lynch’s Castle, Co Meath Clonony, Co Offaly Shrah, Co Offaly Ballyfinboy, Co Tipperary Ballyvada, Co Tipperary Grallagh, Co Tipperary Graystown, Co Tipperary Lisronagh, Co Tipperary Moycarkey, Co Tipperary Tombrickane, Co Tipperary Syonan, Co Westmeath Tyrrelspass, Co Westmeath Rathmacknee, Co Wexford Taghmon, Co Wexford Threecastles, Co Wicklow

Return to County Wexford List
Return to Gazetteer